The SPEA11 conference will be postponed to June 2022


Printer-friendly version

The following speakers confirmed their participation to Spea11.

Plenary speakers

Prof. Detlef BAHNEMANN 

Leibniz University Hannover (DEU) & Saint Petersburg State University (RUS) 

Prof. Bahnemann is Head of the Research Unit "Photocatalysis and Nanotechnology" at the Institute of Technical Chemistry of the Leibniz University Hannover and Director of the Research Institute Nanocomposite Materials for Photonic Applications at Saint Petersburg State University.
His research topics include photocatalysis, photoelectrochemistry, solar chemistry and photochemistry focussed on synthesis and physical-chemical properties of semiconductor and metal nanoparticles. His more than 500 publications have been cited around 50,000 times (h-index: 86 according to Google Scholar Citations). He is Visiting Research Professor in several academic institutions. In 2017 he received the Medal "To the Memory of Academician N. M. Emanuel" by the Russian Academy of Sciences and M. V. Lomonosov Moscow State University (Russian Federation).

Prof. Dionysios. D. DIONYSIOU

University of Cincinnati (USA) 

Prof. Dionysiou is a UNESCO co-Chair Professor on “Water Access and Sustainability” and a Herman Schneider Professor of Environmental Engineering at the University of Cincinnati.
His research activity includes the following fields: advanced oxidation technologies for water treatment and water reuse, drinking water treatment and purification, physicochemical phenomena on particle-water interfaces, transition-metal oxidation, elimination of contaminants of emerging concern from water, destruction of biological toxins in water, and environmental nanotechnology. He is the author or co-author of over 450 refereed journal publications (received over 36,000 citations, h-index of 98; Google Scholar). He is Co-Editor of Chemical Engineering Journal.


Prof. James R. DURRANT

Imperial College London & Swansea (GBR) 

James Durrant is Professor of Photochemistry in the Department of Chemistry, Imperial College London and Sêr Cymru Solar Professor, College of Engineering, University of Swansea.
His research addresses the photochemistry of new materials for solar energy conversion – targeting both solar cells (photovoltaics) and solar to fuel (i.e.: artificial photosynthesis). It is based around employing transient optical and optoelectronic techniques to address materials function, and thereby elucidate design principles which enable technological development. His group is currently addressing the development and functional characterisation of organic and perovskite solar cells and and photocatalysts and photoelectrodes for solar fuel generation. He founded the UK Solar Fuels Network and leads Imperial’s Centre for Plastic Electronics and the Welsh government funded Sêr Cymru Solar initiative. He published over 450 research papers which have been cited over 40,000 times, leading to an h-index of 114. He recently awarded the 2018 Hughes Medal.


Prof. Hermenegildo GARCIA

University of Valencia (ESP)

Prof. García, carries out his research and teaching work in the Department of Chemistry of the Polytechnic University of Valencia and in the Institute of Chemical Technology, ITQ, of the CSIC-UPV.
He is the principal investigator of a multidisciplinary research group and his research interests include: organic photochemistry inside zeolites and the use of zeolites as (photo) heterogeneous catalysts in organic reactions, the preparation of photo- or electro-active systems encapsulated inside zeolites, the application of Photochemistry to remedy environmental problems and the preparation of solar cells. On these and other related topics he has author of more than 750 articles with an h-index of 100.



University of Torino (ITA)

Prof. Giamello is Full Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, past director of the PhD School in Science and High Technology and Head of the Department of Chemistry IFM in the University of Torino. Since 2013 he is a member of the Board of Governors of the University of Torino.
His scientific activity is in the field of solid state chemistry, surface chemistry and photochemistry with particular attention to materials based on metal oxides. In this area he developed, in particular, the application of the Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR) technique. He is co- Author of about 280 papers on Journals and book chapters that received 12700 citations with an h-index of 55 (Scopus). In 2007 Elio Giamello received a Humboldt Research Award by the Alexander von Humboldt Fundation, Germany, for his scientific activity in the field of surface chemistry. 


Prof. Kazuhito HASHIMOTO

University of Tokyo (JPN)

Prof. Hashimoto is currently the president of the National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS) in Tsukuba. He is also a professor at the Policy Alternatives Research Institute, University of Tokyo.
His research interests are spread in very broad area including photocatalysis, microbial electron transfer, functionalized magnetic materials, artificial photosynthesis, and polymer photovoltaics. His contributions to science are described in more than 650 peer-reviewed papers (h-index 113). Hashimoto received many awards, including the Japan Prime Minister Award for Academia-Industry Corporation in 2004, the Imperial Award for Invention in 2006, and The Chemical Society of Japan Award in 2012. Now he is contributing to science policy making of Japan’s government as an executive member of Council for Science, Technology & Innovation (Cabinet Office of Japan Government).


Prof. Bunsho OHTANI

Hokkaido University (JPN) 

Prof. Ohtani is full professor in the Institute for Catalysis at the Hokkaido University.
His research concerns photocatalysis and related topics. On these arguments he published more than 250 original papers (h-index: 64). He was awarded 2005 Scientific Achievement Award of The Electrochemical Society of Japan, The Japanese Photochemistry Association Award 2006, Catalysis Society of Japan Award for 2013, The Japanese Photochemistry Association Lectureship Award (2017), and The Award of The Electrochemical Society (Takei Award), 2018 for his works on photocatalysis.

Keynote speakers

Prof. Teruhisa OHNO
Kyushu Institute of Technology (JPN)
Dr. Isabel Oller
Plataforma Solar de Almeria (ESP)
Prof. David Ollis
North Carolina State University (USA)
Prof. Dionissios Mantzavinos
University of Patras (GRE)


Prof. Antoni Morawski
West Pomeranian University of Technology (POL)
Prof. Elena Selli
University of Milan (ITA)
Prof. Michael Wark
University of Oldenburg (GER)